FEST Virtual Conference 2020

24 - 26 June 2020

Unfortunately the FEST 2020 Conference in Bursa was cancelled because of the COVID-19 outbreak and the national measures taken to fight this virus.
FEST would like to thank SEIBA International Storytelling Center for all the hard work they put in the preparation of the 2020 conference.

We can't meet in person but that doesn't mean we can't meet at all, that is why FEST decided to take our yearly international conference for oral storytelling online.

The 2020 FEST VIRTUAL Conference is a place for storytellers and organisations to meet, exchange and share knowledge and experiences on different themes that touch the oral storytelling community. We will organise 6 online fora on different subjects concerning the oral storytelling scene in Europe.

You’ll have the opportunity to learn all about the FEST projects and objectives and prepare the future.


11:00 - 13:00

15:00 - 17:00

19:00 - 21:00

FEST General Assembly (FEST Members only)

 FESTNET year 4 of the European Project (Guy Tilkin & Katty Van Kerkhove)

Young Storytellers of FEST: next step towards the future (Mattia Di Pierro)

11:00 - 13:00

15:00 - 17:00

19:00 - 21:00

Storytelling Traditions in Turkey - Where Oral Literature Meets Performing Culture (Agnieszka Aysen Kaim)

Professionalising the storyteller – building a study in oral storytelling – from idea to validation (Heidi Dahlsveen & Joseph Sobol)

Joining forces: taking storytelling further on a national level
(FEST Ambassadors: Maria Vrachionidou, Agnieszka Aysen Kaim, Esther Kornalijnslijper, Sharon Jacksties & Max v. Mitschke-Collande)

11:00 - 13:00

 Workshops Envisioning and building an international programme (Arjen Barel)

Past Conferences

  • FEST Conference Photo 2008

    FEST CONFERENCE 2008 – OSLO (Norway)

    The Oslo conference was the first gathering of European storytellers that led to the founding of FEST. It was attended by over sixty representatives of nineteen countries: Bulgaria, Canada, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Poland, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland and Wales.

    Read More